08/20/2019 Samuel Goldwyn Films Acquires Ray Xue’s Slasher ‘Extracurricular’ for 2020 Release

Samuel Goldwyn Films Acquires Ray Xue’s Slasher ‘Extracurricular’ for 2020 Release
by John Squires / Bloody Disgusting

Samuel Goldwyn Films announced today that the company has acquired North American rights to Ray Xue’s horror/thriller Extracurricular, starring Keenan Tracey, Brittany Raymond, Spencer Macpherson, Brittany Teo, and Luke Goss. The film will be released in early 2020.

A young couple. An isolated cabin. The killer strikes, chasing them through the woods. It’s not one killer, but four. Ian, Derek, Jenny, and Miriam are high schoolers. Athletes. Scholars. Killers. They have rules. Never in their home town. Never anyone they know. No kids. No patterns. No witnesses. Halloween approaches. They know they’ve got to celebrate properly. An isolated farmhouse out in the country, an older couple living alone. A perfectly thought-out plan assembled amid the usual chaos of homework, and family. Halloween night. The couple settle in for a quiet evening when it all begins. On the porch, a young girl curled into a ball, terrified and sobbing. They approach, concerned and confused, and she turns her head. A plastic mask instead of a face. Behind them, more people, more masks. The evening begins in earnest. All goes according to plan until their carefully staged operation turns into chaos.

“We are thrilled to be attached to such a talented young cast and an up-and-coming director such as Ray. We were drawn to the constant twists of the films, and it has one hell of an ending!” said Meg Longo of Samuel Goldwyn Films.

“We were immediately drawn to this story because it was so ingenious, flipping the formula of the slasher genre on its head and delivering one of the coolest final twists you can imagine” said producer Sean H. Thomas.

Extracurricular was directed by Ray Xue and written by Matthew Abrams and Padgett Arango. A Black Sparrow Films presentation of a September 17 Studio/AAP Production, the film was produced by Sean H. Thomas and Jason Ross Jallet, with Julien Favre acting as Supervising Producer, and Executive Produced by Sandro Lavezzi, Jean-Alexandre Luciani, Veronique Cuilhé, Bill Marks, Dan Peel, Jason Moring, and Stanley Preschutti.

To See The Article Click Here